If you have problems during the execution of MRCC, please attach the output with an adequate description of your case as well as the followings:
  • the way mrcc was invoked
  • the way build.mrcc was invoked
  • the output of build.mrcc
  • compiler version (for example: ifort -V, gfortran -v)
  • blas/lapack versions
  • as well as gcc and glibc versions

This information really helps us during troubleshooting :)

Background Charges and dipoles

More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #859 by Edums
Background Charges and dipoles was created by Edums
Hi,
I am new to MRCC, and I am still learning about its capabilities. I am interested in analyzing excited states of relatively large systems (160 electrons, 350 basis set functions). My current interest is the analysis of the effect of external fields on those states. What attracted me of MRCC in the first place, was the availability of the reduced cost ADC(2) methods.
I was wondering if there is a way to introduce background point charges, and or point dipoles to the initial SCF calculations, to be used subsequently in the reduced cost ADC(2).
A first quick look at the manual show the following keywords:
- epert: This seems to allow introducing the effect of external dipoles. Can these dipoles be located at specific user locations, i.e, give the position and magnitude/orientation of the dipole, for several dipoles?
- Point charges seems to be included only via the qmmm=amber keyword, but I do not have Amber installed. Is there any other way to add background charges? Thanks!
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Edums.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• kallay
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Mihaly Kallay
More
3 years 11 months ago #861 by kallay
Replied by kallay on topic Background Charges and dipoles